Canyons District's COVID-19 Action Plan, Updates | Read More >

What is the School Community Council?

Serving on our School Community Council is a wonderful way for parents to be actively involved in their children’s education. Each year, the school receives a distribution of funds from Utah’s School LAND Trust Program, and it’s the Council’s job to prioritize how these funds will be used to address the school’s greatest academic needs. School Community Councils hold elections once a year to fill open seats, and are comprised of parents and school employees, including the principal. Parents make up the majority of the Council, outnumbering employees by at least two. Working together, Council members review school data, identify school needs, establish school goals (or a success plan), and allocate LAND Trust funds toward accomplishing those goals. School Community Councils also discuss school digital and safety plans, and throughout the year, serve as an advisory group to the school principal, district administrators, and the Canyons Board of Education. In this role, the Council fosters communication between the school and the community on local school issues, and is a vital partner in fulfilling Canyons’ college- and career-readiness mission. Resources to assist Council members in fulfilling their roles and responsibilities can be found on Canyons District’s website.

Funding Distribution History

LAND Trust Funds TSSA Funds
2020-2021$118,054$109,689
2019-2020$111,824
2018-2019$99,894
2017-2018$88,014
2016-2017$66,889

2020-2021 Council Members

Please feel free to contact any member of the council with items you would like to have presented at the next meeting.

Sarah Allred - Parent
s.allred@gmail.com
Ashley Anderson - Parent
ashleyanderson16@gmail.com
Jen Ashworth - Parent
jen_ashworth@hotmail.com
Peter Black - Parent
prb2919@hotmail.com
Katie Dahle - Parent
dahle1@msn.com
Molly Hart - Principal
molly.hart@canyonsdistrict.org
Robyn Holyoak - Teacher
robyn.holyoak@canyonsdistrict.org
Rene Hunter - Parent
renehunter@yahoo.com
Grant Langston - Parent
grantmack@gmail.com
Andrew Luker - Parent
aluker@gmail.com
Cristina Miller - Parent
crislmiller@gmail.com
Misti Milner - Parent
misti.milner@outlook.com
Stephanie Nasser - Teacher
stephanie.nasser@canyonsdistrict.org
Melinda Rosevear - Parent
melindarosevear@yahoo.com
Cherie Sadowski - Parent
Cheriesadowski@gmail.com
Michelle Schmidt - Parent
michelletschmidt@gmail.com
Kim Steenblik - Parent
supermomofsix@msn.com
Kaati Tarr - Parent
kaatitarr@gmail.com
Kevin Taylor - Parent
kevintcom@gmail.com

2020-2021 Annual Plans & Reports

Click here to access translatable, accessible LAND Trust Plans & Reports.

2020-2021 Meeting Schedule, Minutes and Agendas

All meetings will be held at Albion Middle School in the Choir room.

Translate »